Thankful Thursday – I see dead people!

Okay, so my title is a shameless use of an over-used movie line, but it was definitely more attention getting than “Thankful Thursday – Obituaries online.”  Then again, this IS a blog about genealogy mostly read by fellow genealogists…I guess the alternate title probably would have had just as much impact!

Over the course of my genealogy research, I’ve found a lot of brick walls, especially since much of my research lately has had to be online since I’m in Florida, and all of my ancestors were in Indiana and Ohio…a 14 hour drive isn’t exactly a “quick trip to the courthouse.”  One of the resources that I have found invaluable to me has been the proliferation of obituaries newspaper obituaries that have been digitized and put online.  Unfortunately, there are still the vast majority of them from back in the early 1900s and 1800s that are still not online.

In Ohio, I have found a resource that I will be forever grateful for….  The Ohio Obituary Index maintained by the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center.  This searchable index not only has nearly every obituary published in Ohio newspapers, but when you find one you need, the site has very clear cut instructions on who to contact and how to order a copy of the obituary.  Were it not for this project, I can honestly say that I would be surrounded by brick walls and have a research trip list a mile long waiting for me to travel to Ohio!

I am and always will be thankful for the Ohio Obituary Index and the people who have made that wonderful project happen!

Leave a Reply

