Surname Saturday – Farver

Ah, it’s Surname Saturday again!  I know you’re probably thinking, “Why on earth is this guy excited about something called Surname Saturday??”  Well, for me, this topic gives me a chance to go back and look at the surnames that I am researching and look at how deeply I have dug out these roots and where the roots lead me.

This week, I decided to check out one of my families that I have been able to trace back to when they first came to America – the Farvers.

Surname –  Farver

Variations –  To date, I’ve only found a couple of variations on the Farver surname in my family.  The variations are Farber and Faber.  Faber seems to be the most prominent and appears to be the variation that was in use when the family came to America in the 1700s.

Origin – To date, I’ve not been able to conclusively trace the origin of the Farver family name.  The furthest back that I have been able to conclusively trace the Farver name is to Valentine Faber, Sr. and his sons who all came to America in 1767 on the ship Minerva.  After being naturalized in Philadelphia, my 4th Great Grandfather, Jacob, moved to Maryland.  From there, over the next couple of generations, my line of the family moved to Ohio and then on to Indiana.

Notable Family Facts – The one notable fact in the family lineage that I have found to date is that my Great Great Grandfather, Isaac, served as a Private in the 35th Indiana Infantry Regiment of the Union Army during the American Civil War.

Leave a Reply

