Tombstone Tuesday – Isaac and Anna (Brown) Link

Grave marker for Isaac and Anna (Brown) Link
Chandler Cemetery, Wyandot County, Ohio

Today’s tombstone is for my 2nd great grandparents, Isaac and Anna (Brown) Link.  I have written about Isaac and Anna a few times before.  Isaac and Anna have presented a bit of a mystery for me as far as why they seemed to wander through the south late in their lives.  Even their tombstone presented a challenge for me.  This is actually a great example of how information from one source can be wrong even if it is “carved in stone.”

You see, I took this picture early on in my genealogy research.  I figured it gave me some basic information and I could build from there.  What I didn’t realize at the time is that Isaac’s death year is wrong on his tombstone!  Isaac Link died on December 12, 1910, not in 1911 as written on his tombstone.  I would love to say that I have a death certificate to prove this, but unfortunately, Isaac died in Georgia in 1910 which was  before the state started requiring death certificates in 1919.  The wonderful County Recorder in Dublin, Georgia did a search for me, but unfortunately was unable to locate any death certificate for Isaac.  However, my most solid evidence to dispute the 1911 death year is that Isaac’s obituary was published in the Wyandot County Republican on December 16, 1910.  As far as sources, information and evidence goes, the publishing of his obituary prior to 1911 is pretty conclusive evidence that the date is incorrect!

Many facts about Isaac and Anna’s lives are still shrouded in the mists of time for me, but with careful research, I have no doubt that I am going to uncover why they wandered through the south, and find enough evidence to say that I have proven where and when Isaac died.

Leave a Reply

