Follow Friday – June 14

Several of my posts for this Friday were part of a series of posts.  Two sets came from bloggers who are attending the Institute for Genealogical and Historical Research (IGHR) at Samford University up the road in Birmingham, Alabama.  I even found time this week to find a few new blogs to follow.  

This week’s favorites:
Genealogy Prejudice Rears its Ugly Head – The title pretty much says it all.  This was a great article about the prejudice that seems to be coming up a lot within the genealogical community.  I completely agree with Mark – This is dumb!
IGHR Reports from Are My Roots Showing – I loved reading Jenny’s posts about IGHR, and I have to say that she has done a lot to convince me that IGHR is on my agenda some year soon!  Here are her post on Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4 and Day 5.
Judy Russell over at the Legal Genealogist has two great posts on IGHR as well.  One on Primary Resources and one on Historical Maps
An on going series at Nutfield Genealogy – Weathervane Wednesday – has always been a favorite weekly read for me.
Who Put the Heads on Pez?  My Cousin Curt! is a great post that gives us all a great biography of someone that most of us have probably never thought about but who was responsible for a cultural icon!
The Gift of Time is an a post that I just read this morning.  Michelle over at Southern Sleuth wrote a great biography piece with a pocket watch as her inspiration.  Fantastic writing!
Last, but not least, is Swimming in the stream of history over at Genealogy’s Star.  James’s piece has some great advice for all genealogists – go read and learn about the history that your ancestors lived through!  It will enlighten you so much more on what their lives were really like.
Two new (to me) blogs this week:
Teach Me Genealogy is a great educational blog.
50 Shades of Genealogy isn’t actually new to me, but I wanted to include it because it’s very funny and hits home on pretty much every post.  This is a tumblr page by Thomas MacEntee (the man behind Geneabloggers). 
Leave a Reply

