Wordless Wednesday – Winter Work

“Ira and Donald Washler”
(as written on the original)
date unknown

I love this picture just because it shows what life was like for my grandfather’s generation during the winters – hard work just to bring in the wood needed to keep warm when snow was covering everything.

The picture does need a little explanation…the writing on the back of this picture identifies the individuals as “Ira and Donald Washler” which I can confirm is at least partially true.  The man on the right is most definitely my grandfather, Donald A. Washler.  However, there was no “Ira Washler” as far as I have been able to find.  My best guess at this point is that the other man in the picture is actually Donald’s brother-in-law, Ira Reinhart.  Ira married Donald’s sister, Stella.

I have a few requests out to family members to see if my hunch on this picture is correct.

Leave a Reply

