Upcoming Series – Family History Through the Alphabet

I have a confession…I have set a few blogging goals and challenges for myself over the past 6 months, and I have to confess that I have not succeeded on those goals as much as I wanted to.  There are all sorts of

‘Family History Through the Alphabet’ Challenge

reasons…summer break for my kids, preparing for my own wedding in November, and the list goes on.  But the reality is that the goals I was setting for myself just weren’t holding my attention.  This past week, I read a post at My Heritage Happens by Cheryl Palmer and it hit with me…I wasn’t achieving those blogging goals because they just didn’t match the reasons that I started my blog.  When I started this blog, my intention was to share my genealogy finds, my family history and maybe connect with some long lost relatives along the way.  As I got rolling, I became caught up in the world of geneablogging.  I was following daily prompts (and I was nearly obsessed with having a post to publish every single day of the week), I was commenting on other topics in the genealogy world, and if I am honest with myself, I was writing the blog to try to gain an audience and not for myself.  Cheryl’s blog post about her reasons for considering quitting hit home.  I realized that it’s time to get back to writing this blog for me and my family as much as for others who may or may not stumble on it.

Prior to this revelation, I had been planning to take on the “Family History Through the Alphabet” challenge that was created over at Gould Genealogy.  My intent was to make the series educational in nature, but after my revelation, I have decided to use the challenge as a personal prompt to get back to my basic genealogy research and improve my writing skills.  My “intro” for the series is now…..


For 26 posts I will be doing a personal family history journey through the alphabet, one letter at a time.  My personal challenge for this series is that I am going to try to match as many of the letters as I can to first names of my ancestors and research that individual’s life to write a full narrative of their life.  For those letters that I can’t match to an ancestor, the post will be either a) about a artifact or a location where an ancestor lived, or b) educational in nature.  Although the challenge is complete, Alona, the host, is encouraging others to participate anyway.  Additional information on the challenge, can be found at Take the ‘Family History Through the Alphabet’ Challenge

I can’t promise that these posts are going to come out one a week, or even one a month, simply because for several of the names that I am going to use, I still have quite a bit of additional research to do.  What I can promise my readers is that when I put up one of the posts, you will be treated to a narrative of my ancestor’s life that is written with all of the facts that I could find on them and all of the historical context that I can muster.  My hope is to bring my readers and myself into the lives of my ancestors.

Stay Tuned……
Leave a Reply

